Skepsos's skepsis

The birth of scepticism

Posted in Skepsos by skepsos on March 25, 2010

My skepticism began at the start of the first Gulf War, when CNN continuously displayed the bombing as if it was a videogame. It even had a name: ‘precision bombing’ and it was supposed to be safe and nonharmful to Iraqi civilions.
At that time I would blindly trust the eight ‘o clock news.
The next day when I was attending my physics class and my fellow classmates were discussing the war, my teacher came in. Some pupils asked him ‘what do you think about the war sir?’ He paused for a while and said “you shouldn’t believe what they show you on tv. It is impossible to have civilianfriendly precision bombing if at the same time they tell you a thousand missiles are being fired.”
This shocked me, made me think and forever sparked a search for truth in me.

Tell me: do you remember your first skeptical moment?

5 Responses

Subscribe to comments with RSS.

  1. typinkt said, on March 25, 2010 at 11:00

    I also trace much of my own skepticism towards authority and (at times) humanity back to the first gulf war…I was young, late elementary school, but extremely precocious and more than a little put off. I look forward to following your work.

  2. skepsos said, on March 29, 2010 at 02:29

    Hi Katie, well feel free to write more on moments in your life when doubt kicked in.

  3. typinkt said, on March 29, 2010 at 06:32

    Ha! Big one would be my confirmation day (Presbyterian Church-USA), at 14yo…I remember going through the confirmation year and having all of the “Young Life” kids starting to get judgmental and hateful…and me just innocently turning their statements around and playing devil’s advocate (which pissed them off even further, ha!) and then on the day where we all actually got confirmed in church, I had this overwhelming feeling of needing to flee the sanctuary because it felt so hypocritical…not because I didn’t believe in “god” in some form (I did and still do) but because I just felt that the whole thing was ridiculous—how could ANY of us, let alone a group of hormonal, too-smart-for-our-own-good tweens—profess to some faith—any faith!–just ’cause that’s how we were raised…and that’s just one moment of doubt. I could write a whole blog just based on moments of doubt in very “public” situations (I ended becoming ordained a few years down the road, for a spell) and never run out of stories to tell…keep writing, I enjoy your insights and tweets 🙂

  4. grenangle said, on April 4, 2010 at 06:27

    At high school in Australia in the 80’s an English clairvoyant was touring and appearing on T.V.
    I thought it was crap which did not make me popular. Then James Randi turned up and debunked her. I went to school the next day and asked if anyone had seen it. ” He is just a yankee arsehole” I was told. Maybe he is, but he is my favourite arsehole.

    • skepsos said, on April 4, 2010 at 08:06

      Excellent one!
      And arseholes can be great at merciless debunking.


Leave a Reply

